Missouri Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws
March, 2016

Several Missouri Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws changed in 2016. 

The following updates were applied to the Missouri Dealer Seminar course in
March 2016:

Proof of Dealer Garage Insurance Policy
Law Enforcement Certification
Dealer Display Lot
Dealer License Plates
Off Road Utility Vehicles and Motorized Scooter Sales Tax Collection
Boat Dealer Requirements
Lien Release Guidelines
Dealer Sales Requirements
Dealer Advertising Regulations
Off Site Shows and Sales
Proof of of Ownership for Dealership Vehicles
Out of State Recreational Vehicle Shows
Missouri Highway Patrol Background Check
Link to Missouri State Representatives
St. Louis Area Emissions Testing Requirements

Proof of Dealer Garage Insurance Policy


The Department of Revenue now requires all dealer applicants to provide proof of insurance before granting any dealer license. You will be provided an extensive list of dealer garage insurance providers at your Missouri Dealer Educational Seminar.

Back to Top


Law Enforcement Certification


The Department of Revenue changed the Law Enforcement Certification process. You will learn about the new Law Enforcement Certification procedures in your updated Missouri Dealer Seminar.

Back to Top

Dealer Display Lot


You can no longer have a display lot that only has room for one vehicle. You will learn about the new Dealer Display Lot changes that went into effect.

Back to Top

Dealer Plates


The Department of Revenue changed the Dealer License Plate specifications on August 28. You will now only be allowed a certain number of Dealer Plates, depending on the amount of vehicles you sell.

Back to Top

Off Road Utility Vehicles and Motorized Scooter Sales Tax Collection

The State of Missouri now requires all Missouri Automobile Dealers to collect sales tax on any new off-road utility vehicle or new motorized scooter that they sell. Learn more in your Dealer Seminar.

Back to Top

Boat Dealer Requirements


The Department of Revenue now requires Boat Dealers to maintain a lot and sign. Find out more in your Dealer Seminar.

Back to Top

Changes to the Notice of Sale Requirements


Your Missouri Dealer Seminar Instructor will provide you with a copy of the new Department of Revenue Notice of Sale form DOR-5049. Your instructor will also show you how to fill out this new form correctly so it will not be rejected by the Department of Revenue.

Back to Top

Lien Release Guidelines


Missouri has new Lien Release Guidelines and has increased the penalties up to $2,500 for dealers who fail to release liens in a timely manor. These new guidelines will be discussed in class and are included in the newly revised Missouri Dealer Seminar Manual.

Back to Top

Dealer Sales Requirements


In 2009, the State of Missouri implemented a new law for Missouri Motor Vehicle Dealers that fail to sell 6 vehicles per year. Any Dealer that fails to sell the minimum of 6 vehicles per year will not be allowed to renew their Dealers License for a period of 1 year. Your Missouri Dealer Seminar Instructor will give you great advice on how to easily meet your minimum sales requirements and avoid losing your Dealers License for a year.

Back to Top

Dealer Advertising Regulations


You will be required to follow new advertising procedures. The new 2013 Advertising Guidelines are covered extensively in your updated Missouri Dealer Seminar.

Back to Top

Off Site Shows and Sales


Your Missouri Dealer Seminar Instructor will discuss the new requirements you must follow when participating in off site shows and sales.

Back to Top

Proof of Ownership for Dealership Vehicles


New laws effect how a dealer must provide proof of ownership for every vehicle on the dealers lot. Updated Proof of Ownership requirements are included in the newly revised Missouri Dealer Seminar Manual.

Back to Top

Out of State Recreational Vehicle Shows


The State of Missouri has new laws that will affect you if you participate in RV Shows promoted by out of state companies. The updated laws are included in the new Missouri Dealer Seminar Manual.

Back to Top

Missouri Highway Patrol Background Check


Your Missouri Dealer Seminar Instructor will provide an overview of your Missouri Highway Patrol Background Check and give you updated information about the new Background Check Fees.

Back to Top

St. Louis Area Emissions Testing Requirements


The Gateway Clean Air Program ended on September 1, 2007. You will be provided an overview of the new Gateway Vehicle Inspection Program and find out what vehicles are now exempt from emissions testing.

These new laws will affect your day to day operations as a licensed Missouri Motor Vehicle Dealer. Find out more in your Missouri Dealer Seminar

Click here to view the entire list of all Class Topics covered in Your Missouri Dealer Seminar

Find the class closest to you by clicking on Class Schedule

See what other newly licensed dealers have said about a Missouri Dealer Seminar by reading their Testimonials

You can sign up at any time by going to our Sign Up page. If you have any more questions about obtaining your Missouri Dealers License, please use our convenient contact form or you may call us at any time at 816-390-2267 or toll free at 1-800-369-2467

 

Automobile Dealer Compliance